Home Again

This post is somewhat delayed, please forgive me but blogging about the National Academy dropped much lower on the priority list after I reached home.   Sunday morning we packed up the car and left our hotel.  It was probably the most efficient packing I have ever done and there was just enough room for James to have a spot in the back seat.  The poor Impala was riding real low in the back for the trip home.

We headed to the Marine Corp Museum next, as our train did not depart until 4:00.  I had heard very good reports on this museum but had saved going to it until James was there, because I knew he would like it.  Man, everything I had heard about this museum understated how good it was.  Even comparing it to the Smithsonian Museums, the Marine Corp Museum had amazing displays.  If you are headed to D.C., take the time to stop here, it is just off I-95 at exit 150; you can easily spend a day here.

IMGP8494.JPG
IMGP8494.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8503.JPG
IMGP8503.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8512.JPG
IMGP8512.JPG

 

IMGP8516.JPG
IMGP8516.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8523.JPG
IMGP8523.JPG

 

IMGP8526.JPG
IMGP8526.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8538.JPG
IMGP8538.JPG
IMGP8543.JPG
IMGP8543.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8550.JPG
IMGP8550.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8564.JPG
IMGP8564.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8576.JPG
IMGP8576.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP8587.JPG
IMGP8587.JPG

 

IMGP8594.JPG
IMGP8594.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we got to the train they had already begun boarding, so we got our passes and walked right to our room.  The family bedroom was much nicer than the accommodations on the ride up, there was plenty of room for us to spread out.  We did have a five hour stationary delay due to CSX’s signal going down, so we did not arrive in Sanford until 12:30.  My car was in the first group unloaded this time, though. 

This looked familiar
This looked familiar

 

SAM_1039.JPG
SAM_1039.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SAM_1042.JPG
SAM_1042.JPG
The hallways are quite narrow
The hallways are quite narrow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With a stop for a bite to eat, we were home by 4:30 or so.  In so many ways it seemed like I had just left but in other ways it like years since I had last been home.  The N.A. experience has been like that the entire time; when we graduated it seemed like we had just gotten there and also like we had been there forever. 

This is the end of my posts for my friends and family.  I intend to leave this blog up.  Prior to attending the FBI National Academy, I searched the internet for blogs or postings from previous students to see what I might expect, without much success.  Perhaps someone else will stumble onto these ramblings and it will be of some use to them.  Thank you all for your prayers and support of me and my family during this ten weeks, it has meant the world to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

