End of Week Seven

Our challenge yesterday was the Road to Oz, a 5.1 mile run.  It was mostly along a trail through the woods, up and down hills, over tree roots, and over and under downed trees.  A couple of the trees looked like they have been down with for years but there were several that appeared to have fallen during Irene.  I have heard from several people that this is the toughest of all of the challenges, because it is the longest sustained run.  The Yellow Brick Road apparently involves lots of stopping and waiting a moment before doing the next obstacle.   I finished the entire run at a run; Richard and I ran together again.  We finished in 49:40.  I don’t know what I did, but my left ankle has been hurting since then.  Not enough that I can’t walk on it but I may want to put a brace on it before I do the next run.

IMGP6313.JPG
IMGP6313.JPG

Wed afternoon we had Mike Durant, the helicopter pilot who was shot down and captured in Somalia (Blackhawk Down), as our guest speaker.  He was the best of our enrichment speakers.

I got my entire section gathered together for a group shot after section meetings.  Wed night concluded with a party at the grove.

Today was the last day of classes for this week.  We signed our waivers to participate in the Yellow Brick Road challenge.  If I die, it is not the fault of either the FBI or the USMC.  Interestingly, we were told someone HAS died doing the Yellow Brick Road.  Dropped dead on the trail most of the way back. 

As soon as classes were over, I bolted from the Academy and drove up to Arlington and met Tracy and James at our hotel.  Kathryn flies in tomorrow.  This is the first time I have seen either of them since I left.  I am very much looking forward to this weekend! 

National Academy Class 246 Section 1
National Academy Class 246 Section 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our California contingent and Rachel
Our California contingent and Rachel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

