Nearing the End

I think I crossed a mental finish line this week.  The school assignments are pretty much completed now.  My group in Statement Analysis did our presentation today.  My last group project will be presented in Officer Involved Shootings on Sept 9th.  Also on Sept 9th I have to do an interview and interrogation with a role player and turn in my last Statement Analysis project.  Oh, and I have a final exam in Physical Fitness.  That is it for school work.  I think the fact I have completed my assignments has my thoughts turned to going home.

Every NA class does an auction drive to support Concerns of Police Survivors, a charity that supports families of slain officers.  Ours was held off campus at a local bar and grill called, originally, The Main Street Bar and Grill.  There were quite a few items up for auction.  The format was a silent auction until the bidding reached $100; any item that reached $100 was sent to a live auction.  There were a number of items, mostly signed sports memorabilia, that passed the $100 mark.  There were so many items the auction spilled out onto the sidewalk and the close times on items was staggered, with different tables closing every thirty minutes.

IMGP6077.JPG
IMGP6077.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP6088.JPG
IMGP6088.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP6114.JPG
IMGP6114.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jamie
Jamie
A very expensive bat.
A very expensive bat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some of the more hotly contested items included an assortment of challenge coins contributed by various members of our class, which was won by Jamie, our resident Marine Police Officer, probably for more than he really wanted to pay.  A bat signed by someone (ya’ll know how much I follow sports) went for $525.  I mainly went to fulfill my responsibilities as photographer and did not stay through the end, there was an AR-15 rifle up for auction that I am sure went for more than $525 on one of the last tables.  I did bid on, and win, a couple of pocket holsters. 

Tomorrow is the 5.1 mile challenge run.  Depending on who you talk to, this is either the most difficult or second most difficult of the challenges.  Obviously the 6 mile obstacle course is supposed to be the most difficult but tomorrow’s challenge has the most sustained running of any of the challenges.  With that in mind, I should post this and get to bed.  I have a lot of running to do in the morning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

