Blue Brick Complete–Here Comes Irene

Let’s see, a bunch has happened since International Night; I will try to recap the last couple of days.  Obviously Irene’s approach has been a topic of interest.  Earthquakes, hurricanes, I am expecting a plague of locusts before we graduate. 

Thursdays PT was back exercises using large inflatable balls.  Tracy bought one of these balls almost a year ago, I just learned now that you can use them to exercise!  (Love you dear Eye rolling smile).  It was probably good the PT class following International Night was not too rigorous,  apparently the party continued in the boardroom after International Night closed down and then continued at the Grove after the boardroom shut down.  Some people were still awake to feel the 4.5 magnitude aftershock that hit early Thursday morning.  I slept right through it.

SAM_0505.JPG
SAM_0505.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

SAM_0500.JPG
SAM_0500.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

The picture is upside right, I was upside down.
The picture is upside right, I was upside down.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Those things hurt!
Those things hurt!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PT has actually been an interesting class.  Since I scrupulously avoided physical fitness for so much of my life, there is quite a bit I do not know.  Our instructor is Kevin Chimento, I like him as an instructor.  Some of the instruction runs counter to what you would expect; for example, the PT instructors are not real big on the long Challenge Runs and have said they would prefer to do away with that portion of the program, but it is too steeped in tradition.  Kevin is also opposed to exercises that bend your back, so no crunches or situps in his program, we do various types of planks instead.  A large part of the class is teaching you different ways to exercise, so there is a lot of variety in what we do each class.  Kevin is big on teaching exercise routines that can be done quickly and with a minimum of equipment.

Kevin, my PT instructor
Kevin, my PT instructor

Also on Thursday my Officer Involved Shootings class toured the Evil Minds Museum.  This is a “research museum” housed in the behavioral science unit.  It is not open to the public and the exhibits focus on serial killers.  Apparently their permanent space has not been created yet, so calling it a museum is a bit of an overstatement.  It should be called the Evil Minds Display Cases, most everything they have out fits in just two display cases in a hallway.  The funny thing, to me at least, is for a very minimalistic display that is only open to law enforcement, there is quite a bit of marketing.  You can buy Evil Minds Museum coffee mugs, T-shirts, and refrigerator magnets in the PX on campus and there is a great big professionally done sign outside the Behavioral Science Unit.  The BSU agent who conducted the tour did it very well, though, and had a lot of information to pass on about the exhibits that were out.  There were some tools used by various killers on display but most of the display was artwork and writings of the killers and most of that was stuff that was created post conviction.

Big Sign (That is a real human brain in the jar in the cage).
Big Sign (That is a real human brain in the jar in the cage).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Small Exhibit
Small Exhibit
Tracy, remind me to take you guys to see Hannibal
Tracy, remind me to take you guys to see Hannibal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My classmates
My classmates

 

Our instructors for Officer Involved Shootings are Chris Zisi and Sean Anderson.  Sean was a police officer before he joined the FBI.  It has been a good class.  All of my writing assignments are done and turned in at this point, my group will present our group project in September. 

Moving on to Friday, I was able to give my Ethics presentation that should have been done on Earthquake Day (which is the name all of us use to refer to that Tuesday).  It went pretty well, the power point worked, I remembered to distribute my handouts, and my grade for the presentation was a 100.  Everyone else’s presentation were excellent as well.  Pretty much everyone here is putting in major effort on their assignments.  There was one International Student who seemed to be blowing them off, apparently he was told last week to either get them done or he would be sent home; he got busy.

PT on Friday was partially in the pool.  I had swum a mile Thursday night and I only had a mile to go.  Since I was already in my bathing suit, I skipped lunch and knocked out that last mile.  So as of the end of week 7, I have completed 34 miles and earned a blue brick.  I was far from the first one done, at least one person completed 100 miles before I did my 34, but there are still a number of people trying to finish their first 34 as well.  I don’t know that I would chose to undertake that challenge again, knowing what I know now, but I am proud to have finished it.

My plans for the weekend are undecided.  I would like to get off campus and do something on Saturday, but I don’t know what.  There is a concert Saturday night in Springfield VA I would not mind attending, but neither of the other two metal heads is available that evening.  I have also heard reports that the roads are even more crowded due to evacuations and people running for supplies.  Sunday is pretty much a loss, I think.  Irene should be drenching us all day.  Hopefully we don’t lose power, none of these windows open.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blue Brick Complete–Here Comes Irene

  1. Tracy says:

    I can’t believe you wrote that about my exercise ball. Besides, they’re not exercise balls; they’re birthing balls. :-0

Leave a Reply

