Well that was interesting

OK, I am a bit behind in my posting.  Sunday I did school work, well mostly.  I did go out to the Grove where Hoss was conducting another cook out on his grill.  The cafeteria food is not too bad but his is much better. 

Monday I got to talk to both Kathryn and James about their first days of school.  We were given our final exam in Statement Analysis, which we could (and needed to) work on that evening.  I also met with my group in that class and worked on our group project.  There is a remaining individual project in Statement Analysis which will involve interviewing role players, so the final is not the end of it.  I did get the final completed and turned in.

The first class this morning was Officer Involved Shootings.  We were taken to the range where range staff demonstrated cartridge effectiveness through ballistic gelatin tests.  Ballistic gelatin is basically jello, (both are made from pig skin) but it is prepared to a specific consistency to be similar to animal flesh, at least with respect to bullet effectiveness.  It is most useful because it stretches like flesh but you can see the pattern of how it stretched, after the fact.  This stretching is called the temporary cavity and the gelatin is the best way to measure it.  More on that here, if you are interested.

It was an interesting two hours.   Our instructor had told us he would try to get the range instructors to bring out some of the old Thompsons for us to shoot.  Apparently he was rejected, as we did not get to touch any firearms.  There were some Marines from the base who also attended the lesson.

The tests were interesting and I did get some decent photos, gotta love the 7 frames per second burst on the K-5. 

That is what ballistic gelatin looks like.
That is what ballistic gelatin looks like.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is what happens . . .
This is what happens . . .
when a 12 ga slug hits your vest.
when a 12 ga slug hits your vest.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before .308 impact
Before .308 impact

 

 

 

 

 

 

At .308 impact
At .308 impact

 

 

 

 

 

 

After .308 impact
After .308 impact

 

 

 

 

 

 

That would leave a mark.
That would leave a mark.
IMGP5234.JPG
IMGP5234.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This afternoon I had Statement Analysis and Ethics scheduled.  Other groups were presenting their projects in Statement Analysis, and I was scheduled to present my lesson in Ethics as my last class of the day.  Near the end of the first group’s presentation, someone ran a fully loaded semi truck into the building, repeatedly, for about ten seconds.  Well, that is what it felt like.  I have never felt an earthquake before and many of us jumped up and left the classrooms so we could look out the windows and see what was going on.  The California cops thought our reaction was humorous, we will see how they like hurricanes if Irene amounts to much of anything, when it arrives here.  It felt pretty strong, I don’t think I would want to live in CA.  Apparently it broke the water main to the cafeteria.  DEA has a small campus adjacent to the FBI National Academy, we will eat some sort of supper there tonight.  Breakfast and lunch tomorrow will be cold and they will let us know what will happen for supper tomorrow.  I have been eating too much anyhow, so this is probably a good thing.  Or it could be an excuse to finally get a bowl of Lucky Charms they have available in the dining room.  In love

Communication following the earthquake was not very clear.  Our class resumed briefly, other classes left the building.  We were told to evacuate, then told we did not have to evacuate, then told to evacuate again.  Cops are not particularly good at that sort of thing.

This is what evacuating is supposed to look like.
This is what evacuating is supposed to look like.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is what it looked like for most of us.
This is what it looked like for most of us.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since the instructions were to evacuate the classroom building, where I was on the second floor, I went to my clearly safer room on the fifth floor.  Obviously being 2.5x further from the ground is 2.5x safer! 

That is it for my excitement for the day.  I am going to take advantage of the remaining opportunity and head to the pool and maybe get some laundry done tonight. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well that was interesting

  1. rdlethbr says:

    That IS certainly enough excitement for today! It sounds like there was one this morning about 7:;00 AM also in a neighboring state??? Hope it’s over for you and that Irene certainly stays away!

    Love you and thank God you are safe!
    MOM

  2. Tracy says:

    I have to say there’s nothing quite like getting a text from your husband, “We just had an earthquake!” That’s it. I’m ready for this to be done. Either one more earthquake or one more flying roach in the house (because one of either is too many in my book and I’ve exceeded my quota) and you’re coming straight home, Mister! They don’t make enough happy pills for this kind of stuff…

    On a more positive note, I got your card in the mail and Thank You!!! Even though we talk every day, I love reading (and re-reading) the notes and letters you send. I love you.

    MTY LTT

Leave a Reply

