NAA Dinner

I have heard the NA referred to as a fat farm for cops.  There is certainly an exercise regimen, but I have talked to far more people who have gained weight since they arrived than those who have lost.   It is not difficult to find the reason.

A week or so ago, I had intended to dedicate a post to each of my classes.  The new camera is making that easier.   One of today’s classes is Managing Death Investigations.  Our instructor Lydia Pozzato is a lot of fun.  The class is very power point driven but she speeds through them quickly.  If you have had a five day death investigation school, a lot of this is refresher, though in more depth.  We have certainly covered things I did not know, especially some of the guest speakers, who have brought some fairly esoteric knowledge to the class.  We have not spent much time on the management of death investigations yet, though.  Hopefully that will come, as that was my primary interest in the class.

Lydia speaks a number of languages, as she puts it, “just enough to get her killed.”  She has a bit of a British accent, a very perky and upbeat personality, which is somewhat incongruous when she is showing slide after slide of death, decapitation, and decomposition.  So she randomly inserts slides of puppies and kittens in the presentations.  She also brings candy for the class.  Now, if I were to say I was bringing candy for a class of about forty people, I would bring in three, maybe four, bags of miniature candy bars.  Not Lydia, she brings in twenty-five to thirty bags of candy and she has brought that much candy in for the class three times in the six weeks we have been here.  If she has not spent $500 on candy, she has not spent a dollar.   Oh, she also did shot-put in high school track, which is also how she distributes the candy.

See those bags behind her?
See those bags behind her?
They are all filled with candy.
They are all filled with candy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The beginning
The beginning

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The leftovers for our next class.
The leftovers for our next class.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I tried to be strong but then the Kit Kat bag came past my spot . . . I also tried out the video function on the new camera, which did fairly decently I think:

Candy.wmv
Candy.wmv

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That is only the last third of the candy Lydia tossed out.

Tonight we had the National Academy Associates dinner.  It was hosted by 5.11, a clothing and equipment manufacturer for military and law enforcement.  I like 5.11 clothing, I wore their covert khakis to work for the last several years until I lost weight getting ready to come here.   5.11 had discontinued the line, so I could not get any more, but I have since learned they are restarting production.  The dinner was steak, good steak, not cafeteria steak, steak fries, rolls, and apple pie.  5.11 gave away some Light for Life flashlights in a drawing (these flashlights use a supercapacitor instead of a battery, they charge in 90 seconds) and everyone got a small duffle bag with a 5.11 hat, knife, and a pair of socks.  It was a darn cool gift bag (I did not win a flashlight).

Now, one of the other classes I had today was PT, and the classroom portion was on nutrition, which we have been on for a couple of weeks now.  Talk about mixed messages!  Sometimes I think they are conducting psychology experiments:  “Let’s put an ice cream machine in the dining room, cakes and cookies in the cafeteria line every day, bags of candy in class, and then tell them how bad it all is for them.”

On that note, I should probably go swim.  I can at least account for a few calories in the pool. 

This is Marty and a NA #245 student.
This is Marty and a NA #245 student.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NAA Dinner

  1. Tracy says:

    Did you score me some Mounds for our visit?

  2. tlethbridge says:

    No, sorry, no Mounds. And the kit-kats are already gone, I am afraid.

Leave a Reply

