Munchkin Run

Today’s challenge was the 4.2 mile Munchkin Run.  The weather was pretty nice for running.  I started and finished with Richard from Lousiana, we completed the run in 37:42, which appears to be a 9 minute mile pace if I did the math right.  This was the most hilly run yet, there was not much level ground.  I noticed people seem to be finding their pace better.  On previous runs, there would be a number of people who would pass me at the beginning who I would pass back by before the end.  There were only a couple this time.  One of our classmates was brought back in the medical transport vehicle to the clinic.  The good news is she is fine.

At the starting line, we don't look this good at the end.
At the starting line, we don’t look this good at the end.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We finished in the first third of the class.
We finished in the first third of the class.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Love the tongue.
Love the tongue.

 

 

 

 

 

 

WB-4808.jpg
WB-4808.jpg

 

 

 

 

After the last person finished
After the last person finished

 

 

 

 

 

 

I accidently left the camera white balance set for indoor light, so the white balance was all out of whack on these pictures.  I tried to correct as much as I could but there is still some magenta and purple color cast to them.  The first shot is from my new camera.  It has a tilting LCD screen, which made it easy to hold up over my head for that shot.

I spent a good bit of time today helping Kathryn track down better prices on her textbooks than the book store was offering.  Man are college books expensive, her price for used books for one semester from the book store was going to be nearly $900.  It was still pretty bad, but I think we shaved a couple hundred off that total shopping online.

This evening all of the Florida cops at the Academy got together at the Globe and Laurel, a restaurant just outside the base.  It is run by a retired Marine officer who served from 1942 through 1972.  He is still at the restaurant every day; he kind of holds court outside on the patio.  When we went out to visit with him after dinner he was entertaining a retired general.  It was the first good steak I have had since I got here.  The cafeteria really does a pretty good job, except when it comes to steak.  What they do to a piece of beef should be a felony.  Since I went out to dinner I missed the margarita picnic.  I probably would have had more (and better) photos there, but here are a few from the Globe and Laurel.   The walls are all covered in Marine Corp memorabilia and the walls and ceiling of the bar area are covered in law enforcement patches.  It was kind of a neat place.

SAM_0078.JPG
SAM_0078.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SAM_0083.JPG
SAM_0083.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SAM_0082.JPG
SAM_0082.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SAM_0087.JPG
SAM_0087.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Had time to video conference with Kathryn and Tracy this evening.  Just after calling Tracy, there was a tremendous bang behind me, loud enough that someone came running over from the next room over thinking a gun had just discharged.  The mini fridge I bought when I got here has a very narrow range between freezing everything and not quite cold enough; it was in freeze everything mode and a coke can exploded inside the fridge.  Scared the crap out of me.

Back to the grind tomorrow. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

