IACP Dinner

Today was a busy day.  We had a substitute instructor in PT and we did this fun thing called a ladder.  Basically, we had ten exercises to do and we only did each one for 30 seconds, with a 10 second break in between.  The first time through, we only did the first exercise (dive bombers, basically pushups but you do this back arching while you go up and down).  Then you did exercise one and two.  Then you did one, two, and three; followed by one, two, three, and four, and so on.  It was a good thirty minute workout and fairly draining.  Next time I hope leg exercises occupy the first few spots.

Dive Bombers
Dive Bombers

 

 

 

 

 

 

T-pushups
T-pushups
We were all dripping by the end.
We were all dripping by the end.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This afternoon I gave my oral presentation on Evita Peron.  I guess it went fairly well.  I had a power-point prepared but the projector stopped working on the second slide.  Our instructor quickly got tech support on the issue and I continued my presentation without the slides.  Tech support did get the projector up and running but I then found the video I had embedded, which worked fine on my computer, was not working on the classroom computer connected to the projector.  I carried on through that as well and got an A for the presentation.  That completes my assignments for Leadership.

There are actually more than two other students.
There are actually more than two other students.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jerry is trying to make the computer work again.
Jerry is trying to make the computer work again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once class was over we had thirty minutes to change from uniforms into suits and head out to the International Associate of Chiefs of Police dinner.  This was held at the Officer’s Club on the base, the same location that hosted the Sheriff’s Dinner.  Everyone was invited to this dinner, a fact a number of police officers kept pointing out, as they had not been invited to the Sheriff’s Association dinner. 

It was a nice meal, the speakers were not long winded, the food was pretty good, and there was time to socialize.  We left campus at 6:00 and returned about 8:30 or so.  I did not bother trying to swim; I am comfortably close to the 34 mile mark now and I can fit the swimming in on nights I do not have other activities.

Tomorrow Kathryn leaves for college.  This is tough for me, I guess I always knew she was going to college and I had always assumed I would be there, dropping her off and helping her move in.  I know Tracy has it covered and she has our families available to help if needed.  I guess this and her 18th birthday were the two big things I knew I would miss coming here.  I doubt she is going to miss home enough that she decides to blog the experience, though.

My tablemates
My tablemates

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP4574.JPG
IMGP4574.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP4575.JPG
IMGP4575.JPG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IACP Dinner

  1. rdlethbr says:

    Glad your big report is complete! The problem with using technology is sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. Had the professor been able to see that part of the presentation in advance? It is good to check things off your list!!! How many swimming miles do you have now? Hopefully you will have time to enjoy your total experience. It will go fast now!

    Love you,
    Mom and Dad

    • tlethbridge says:

      To err is human, to really mess up you need a computer. The lesson I took was to use my own computer next time and plug that into the projector. There are computers built into the lecterns and it is easier to just carry a thumb drive but I can do it the other way too.

Leave a Reply

