Best Laid Plans

Wow, two posts in 24 hours, ya’ll must be really lucky Smile with tongue out.  My morning post was all about what I planned to do with my Wednesday.  Now that it is 9:30, I can report that I accomplished almost nothing on that list, including sticking to my diet. 

I had forgotten today was the vendor fair.  If you have ever been to any kind of conference where there are vendors, this was very similar.  There were about five higher education schools, insurance companies, law enforcement equipment companies, etc, all set up in the atrium.  Of course, they also had free crap they were giving away.  Cops, like everyone else, like free crap.  They were also serving pizza, so the diet went out the window along with my scholastic and grooming plans.

I did not get anything done on my lesson plan and I did not get my hair cut.  On the upside, I got a free baseball cap, refrigerator magnets, temporary tattoos, pens, hand sanitizer, and chapstick.  That is way better, right?

IMGP4290.JPG
IMGP4290.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP4277.JPG
IMGP4277.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the photo above, you can see sunglasses.  One of the vendors was Maui Jim; I had never heard of them but apparently they make rather expensive sunglasses.  When I came up to their table, the vendor handed me their reading glasses/sunglasses combination.  I told him I did not use reading glasses.  Sadly, I tried them on and found text was clearer with the glasses than without them.  That was pretty much the turning point for my day, apparently I need glasses.  This sucks.

This afternoon, we had class elections for president.  Each section nominee gave a short speech and then we voted who would be class president.  As proof I am not an idiot, I was in the audience and not on stage.  Our class president is a Colonel Jim Previtera from Hillsborough County FL.  The competition was tough, all six speeches were very good.

The Nominees
The Nominees

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mr. President
Mr. President

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the election, we had our enrichment speaker, Ken Hogan.  His presentation was interesting but a little long winded and very filled with profanity.  Now, if you are addressing a law enforcement audience, a little profanity is acceptable, perhaps even expected.  This was pretty bad; it was worse than any heavy metal concert I have ever attended.  I would not want to recommend him to present at my home agency, even though I thought his main message (mental and physical preparation for deadly force encounters) was on point.

The evening ended with the picnic at The Point.  Funny story:  I was walking to The Point, which is about a mile from campus.  I had decided to call my mother along the walk.  As I was talking to her, a Suburban pulled up, the door opened, and a group of four of our female students offered me a ride the rest of the way.  I think my final words were “I have to go Mom, a bunch of chicks are picking me up.” 

During the day, we all wear uniforms.  As we could wear casual clothing tonight, t-shirts became a way of self identifying. I spotted Fran wearing a T-shirt with Death from the Neil Gaiman Sandman comic books.  When I commented that I liked her t-shirt, she challengingly asked if I knew who it was.  When I was able to answer, I think I made a friend for life.  As far as my T-shirt, I found a bunch of Iron Maiden fans and fell into a group of Massachusetts guys, when I told them I was born in MA, I knew my brother would approve of their shirts.

Only missing the Celtics
Only missing the Celtics

 

Yes, Death is the goth chick on the T-Shirt.
Yes, Death is the goth chick on the T-Shirt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP4428.JPG
IMGP4428.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP4388.JPG
IMGP4388.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP4389.JPG
IMGP4389.JPG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

