3.1 Miles

Today’s challenge run was 3.1 miles, as you may have guessed by the title.  We have now completed half of the challenge runs, though we are not even close to finishing half of the distance.  The last two runs will total over 11 miles; as we were waiting to begin, someone pointed out all the runs before those two also total about 11 miles.   I finished beside Richard from Lousiana, he had his stop watch running and we finished in 28:50.  I do need to get out and start running on my own more.  This run was not a problem, but three miles was my regular training run at home getting ready for the NA, with an occasional 4.5 mile run if I felt particularly good.  I need to start stretching that out to be ready for the longer runs towards the end and train more for running up much taller hills.  Now if I could just put the swimming challenge behind me, I might have time.

All the running photos look the same, huh?
All the running photos look the same, huh?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have some homework that I need to work on today.  I have two group project that are unfinished, my lesson plan for ethics still exists only in my mind, and there are some smaller assignments due soon.  I also need to get a haircut, if not today, then this weekend.  Speaking of haircuts, I understand there is speculation my moustache may soon grow to take over my entire face Just kidding.  In my defense, I am merely following in the footsteps of famous law enforcers of the past, such as Wyatt Earp, the great law enforcement reformer Theodore Roosevelt, and, of course, Sam Elliot, who has played so many cowboy cop roles I am sure he must have been granted arrest powers by now!

WyattEarp-500 Theodore-Teddy-Roosevelt-955x1196SamElliottTexasWine

Unfortunately, I don’t think ten weeks will be long enough to complete training for the World Beard and Moustache Competition

Today’s agenda also has enrichment speaker Ken Hogan speaking on Officer Survival and a picnic at the FBI Point.  Next Wednesday we have a Margarita themed picnic, so I may be able to get some more interesting photographs there. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3.1 Miles

  1. rdlethbr says:

    A mile in 9.1935 minutes sounds pretty good, Tim! It sounds like they certainly plan on sending you home in great physical shape! Is the end of this week the half-way point? The calendar is pretty mushy in our head right now! We had a great time in NE with no problems, aside of getting lost a couple of times. Being an old city, Boston’s system of roads is not easy to navigate! We are glad that we went and glad to be home!
    Love you,
    Mom and Dad

    • tlethbridge says:

      I am glad you guys had a good time and returned home safely. There are some people who have talked about driving up to Boston for a weekend trip but that is a bit too far for me. I would like to return there someday, myself.

Leave a Reply

