Back to the Grind

All weekend long, Tracy and I kept remarking to each other that it did not seem like we had been apart.  The whole month prior faded like half remembered dream.  Unfortunately, it seems to work the same way in reverse; it is very hard to believe I woke up in the same bed with Tracy this morning and the weekend seems like it happened a long time ago.  It is like living two different lives.

We took it easy on Sunday.  From our hotel window, you could see the top of the Iwo Jima Memorial.  We had visited it last Thanksgiving, so we knew it had some nice shade trees in the surrounding park and the adjacent park that houses the Netherlands Carillon.  We took books (well, Tracy took her Kindle), and went looking for a shady spot.  We walked there, finding an interesting little pocket park along the way.

View from our hotel
View from our hotel
I don't remember this park's name.  It had big balls, though.
I don’t remember this park’s name. It had big balls, though.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We did a little photography at the Iwo Jima Memorial then moved on to the Carillon Park.  There is a great view of the monuments on the National Mall from here, but the day was hazy and uncooperative.  There were plenty of shade trees available, so we picked a spot and just relaxed in the grass.  We made it in time for the noon ringing of the bells and stayed until mid-afternoon, when it got too warm to be comfortable anymore.

Iwo Jima Memorial
Iwo Jima Memorial

Netherlands Carillon - it was supposed to rain.
Netherlands Carillon – it was supposed to rain.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dinner was a Papa John’s pizza in the hotel and then we packed.  I don’t think either of us slept worth a dang and we both needed to be up at 0500 to go our respective ways.  My drive back to the N.A. was uneventful but I-95 was a parking lot northbound for twenty miles south of D.C. between 0600 and 0700.  I could not live here, US-27 traffic is bad enough for me.

I made it back in time for breakfast and quickly fell back into my class routine.  My last class of the day had been given to us to use for studying and preparing our Leadership papers.  Mine was already done.  I do have other papers and projects I am still working on but I decided there are way more chairs in the library than there are lanes in the pool and I went to swim.  Since I had a lane to myself the entire time, I knocked out 1.5 miles.  Eleven miles to go.

Only another four weeks until Tracy returns, this time with the kids.  I think this four weeks will be easier.  In any case, it was a very good weekend here, I hope it was the same for all of you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to the Grind

  1. Andrew G. Lethbridge says:

    Sounds like you had a great time. Hang in there bro! You are doing great!

Leave a Reply

