The Cyclone

I have been remiss in posting so far this week, so I will catch up now.  It seems that all of my instructors are running on the same schedule and now is the time to break the class into groups and give group assignments.  Some of them I knew were coming because they were listed in the syllabi but others were surprises and must fall under “classroom participation.”  The problem with getting them all at once is I have difficulty remembering who I am grouped with in which classes; this seems to be a common problem.

I can’t remember anything remarkable happening on Monday, classes and PT.  Oh, I did laundry and narrowly avoided catastrophe.  The uniform shirts have pen slots in the sleeves.  I was not paying attention and sent a pen through.  Luckily the cap stayed on; the pen was ruined but the laundry was untouched.  The mail call has been good to me this week, I had a card from Mom and Dad, one from Gabe, Elizabeth, Grant, and Amelia, and a package from home.  I appreciated all of them. 

On Tuesday immediately following classes there was a National Sheriff’s Association dinner.  I ran upstairs, showered, changed into a suit and we left at 6:00 pm for the Officer’s Club on the Marine Corp base.  I am pretty sure the shirt and tie combination I wore was approved by Tracy.  The meal was nice (baked chicken and/or spaghetti) but really not much different than what we get in the cafeteria.  I was expecting there to be a group of Sheriffs from the Association there but they only had the lady in charge of recruiting and membership.  She spoke for maybe two minutes.  Basically, we drove over, ate, got back in the vans, and drove back to the FBI campus.  It was a little odd.  I did get some photos, none of me, though.  I had enough time to do my swim last night but I didn’t.  Instead, Tracy and I video chatted, we are working out plans for Labor Day and trying to find a flight for Kathryn into D.C.

IMGP3476.JPG
IMGP3476.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP3475.JPG
IMGP3475.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

He got ice cream with a candle, it was his birthday.
He got ice cream with a candle, it was his birthday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wednesday morning our challenge was The Cyclone (all of the challenges are Wizard of Oz themed).  The Cyclone was not a run at all.  Basically we did the same interval training we have been doing in PT.  There were multiple stations set up in the gym, we would do one exercise for thirty seconds then go to the next and do that for thirty seconds, and so on, until we came to the end.  We then did a short fast run outside and back to the first station again.  It really was not that bad.  I took some photos before we started and then again at the very end, as I was about to go outside for the run and the time was almost up.  I did do the run after the time finished though; I did not know how else to get photos.  That is one issue I am finding, some of the most important things to photograph are done as a group, all together at the same time.

Waiting to start.
Waiting to start.

 

 

 

 

 

 

There were a lot of people crammed in this gym.
There were a lot of people crammed in this gym.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sandbag lift and press
Sandbag lift and press

 

 

 

 

 

 

kettlebell tug and jumps
kettlebell tug and jumps

 

 

 

 

 

 

mountain climbers and medicine ball slams
mountain climbers and medicine ball slams

 

 

 

 

 

 

NYPD brutality
NYPD brutality

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I knew the pool was going to fill up as soon as the challenge was completed, so I went outside and ran two miles instead.  A number of other people went out to run as well, it was a beautiful gray drizzly morning, NOT hot.  Following the run, I did put in a mile swim, which was not too bad as the first rush started getting out soon after I got in.  My total is now 20.5 miles.  I am planning on working on my Ethics lesson plan this afternoon.  We have section meetings early afternoon and the enrichment speaker later today is Bobby Smith, a Louisiana State Trooper who was shot in the face and blinded.  I have seen his presentation once previously, when he spoke at the Polk Police Academy; he does give a good presentation.

Only two nights until Tracy is up here!  Don’t count on any posts this weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

