Challenge Run 2

It is Wednesday, so we must be running.  Today was our second challenge run, 2.6 miles this time.  The runs (thus far) begin and end at the track, so that is where the pictures are.  The run itself was down a gravel road and then up a hiking trail with lots of exposed tree roots.  It was nice being in the shade but one of our guys took a nasty spill in front of me.  He got up and finished the run, though, despite an impressive scrape on his leg.

Waiting to start
Waiting to start

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was still able to finish this run without any problems; I got passed more by more people than I passed but I was still in the first half of the pack.  There are some real gazelles who were way out in front.  There was a lot more uphill and downhill slopes to negotiate on this run, coming from Florida is a disadvantage in that regard and I am glad I was able to train on the little bit of elevation change in my neighborhood.  Different branches of the military have military police officers here at the N.A. and I managed to finish with our resident Marine, so overall I feel good.  The Challenge Runs are not races, though, you are really only competing against yourself.  It does not matter at all what place you come in and no one is keeping time.

Done!
Done!

 

 

 

 

 

 

We have broken into groups for group projects in two classes (have I mentioned how I feel about group projects?) and I had several homework/group-work assignments by the end of the day yesterday.  I did do my mile swim, ate supper, then did assignments until 2300.  Oh, I did a load of laundry too.  I brought enough clothing to only do laundry once a week.  Unfortunately, there is no place to store that much dirty laundry in the room, so I am washing twice a week. 

We have free time available until our mandatory meeting on VICAP from 2:30-4:30 this afternoon and then a short break for supper before we load onto buses for a trip to the National Law Enforcement Memorial.  I need to keep working on papers, so I will wrap up with a few more shots from today’s challenge run.

Rachel took this one.
Rachel took this one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The rest are mine.
The rest are mine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP3118.JPG
IMGP3118.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP3128.JPG
IMGP3128.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP3153.JPG
IMGP3153.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP3181.JPG
IMGP3181.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lim was happy he was finished.
Lim was happy he was finished.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

