Monday

Clearly, if I am going to maintain any kind of posting regularity, I am going to have to start doing more interesting things.  Another eight weeks of “I went to class and typed papers” posts is going to become redundant.  Saturday night when I was running on the track, there were several does and fawns eating grass right at the edge of the inside lane; maybe if I abduct one of those and stick it in a counselor’s dorm room I could have something interesting to post about.  Hot smile

Since I have not yet been that creative, I can only report that it was Monday and I went to class.  Our PT class did kick it up a notch or two today.  The classroom lecture was, in part, about level of exertion and how studies have shown short bursts of all-out intense activity can be as beneficial or more beneficial than longer duration moderate exercise.  One example a study that showed six 30 second sprints with four minute breaks in between being more effective for building cardio-vascular endurance than jogging for ninety minutes.  Found a bit more on a couple of the studies here and here.   Of course, when we did twelve minutes of intense burst exercise in PT, I can see why the idea is not more popular.  The FBI has these sliding board things I had never seen before, 4 x 30 seconds of horizontal mountain climbers had my quads screaming for mercy.  Still, from an available time perspective, it is interesting information.

I got back on the swimming tonight.  If I can stick to a mile a day this week, I will be halfway to the brick on Friday.  It will be a little tough, though, we have three evening events scheduled after classes this week, one is Medal of Honor recipient Tommy Norris and another is a trip to the Law Enforcement Memorial; those should be good but will make it tougher to get anything else done.  The two hour presentation on the Violent Criminal Apprehension Program (a computer database) promises to be less interesting; maybe I can catch up on some reading during that one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday

  1. rdlethbr says:

    Hi, Son!

    None of it is boring to me! I eagerly wait for each post. But if once or twice a week works for you, then that’s good too! We are on countdown at the beach – 6 days and we are home for this year. You take care — we love you.

    MOM

    • tlethbridge says:

      Thanks Mom, and Dorothy too. This has been a good way to keep in touch with everyone at home. I got a couple posts worth of pictures at the Law Enforcement Memorial tonight, more on that tomorrow.

  2. Dorothy says:

    I look forward to it as well!

  3. Rodger says:

    Okay – so I drove past Quantico on 95 on Sunday waving – I’m guessing you didn’t see me. Good to see you are well – you guys have convinced Dawn and I to move to the FaceTime side of life, which has been fun so far for the start of my trip. Hoping we can get together while I reside in the Northeast!

    • tlethbridge says:

      Hey Rodger, Actually, I was in one of the top secret classes at that time and I did see you through one of the spy satellites. You are now in a couple of databases you weren’t in before :-). I hope the rest of your trip went well, maybe we can meet at the Wok and Roll in D.C.

Leave a Reply

