Weekend Report

I am afraid I do not have anything too terribly exciting to report from my second full weekend here.  I decided to spend the entire weekend working on school work in an attempt to get ahead and not have work piled up at the end of my time here.  Friday night I did go see Captain America with the two California Steves (which would be a good name for a surf rock band).  It was funny, for two hours I kind of forgot I was at the National Academy.  The day was incredibly hot, even in the theatre I was sweating and at 10:00 at night it still felt oppressive.

Saturday was devoted to papers.  I completed a short paper for the Officer Involved Shooting class that is due Tuesday.  I also did most of the work for my most research-intensive paper in Leadership.  I worked on papers from 0900 to 1800, ate supper, then ran two miles and swam a mile.

Sunday I completed the Leadership paper and knocked out the associated power-point for the presentation portion of that project.  I feel pretty good about having that one done.  I had enough time after that to play an online computer game with James for an hour or so.   There are a number of projects still remaining, the lesson plan and presentation in Ethics and the case review in Death Investigation as well as multiple (hopefully smaller) papers and assignments in Statement Analysis and Officer Involved Shootings, but I feel good about having the largest one behind me.

Sunday night I walked out to “The Point,” which is the FBI recreation area on Lake Lunga.  It is around the back side of where I had been the first weekend here and was a longer walk than I had anticipated.  One of the sections had hosted a “bring your own food” BBQ.  I did not go into town to buy meat but I did go out to spend some time.  There was a pretty decent turnout.

The only pics I took this weekend were from there, so I will post a couple.  The weekend was too short and this week will be a busy one as we are scheduled for events on at least two of the weekday nights (mandatory attendance).  I did not swim tonight but my total is now 12.5 miles, so I am 1/3rd of the way to my 34 mile goal.  Hopefully I can pass 17 miles this week.

The best part of the weekend is Tracy and I made our plans for Labor Day and decided to fly both her and James up here.  If Kathryn can arrange her schedule, we will fly her up directly from Tampa.  I am so looking forward to seeing my family again.

IMGP3043.JPG
IMGP3043.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is a pretty area.
It is a pretty area.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP3037.JPG
IMGP3037.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP3029.JPG
IMGP3029.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMGP3034.JPG
IMGP3034.JPG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekend Report

  1. Paul von Merveldt says:

    Tim, Tracy just sent me an email with your blog address. I have to confess I did not know you were at NA but I am very glad I know now. I have enjoyed reading your post and will be praying for you and your family during these upcoming weeks.

    Paul

  2. Toni Weaver says:

    Wow! You sure are busy! Keep up the good work on swimming, running, and papers! I know you are looking forward to Labor Day weekend! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Melynda Rigdon says:

    Hi Tim! I almost didn’t recognize you in the pic! All that gym time is paying off! I Can say that as your second wife!LOL! Your family is very proud of you so hang in there! You will be home before you know it! Take care!

  4. Kerri says:

    Don’t forget girlfriends too! ;D

    • tlethbridge says:

      Multiple wives and girlfriends all together online. I think this blog is an IA investigation waiting to happen! The problem is ALL of them are in Florida and I am in Virginia. I need a wife or girlfriend up here!

Leave a Reply

