Studying Sunday

Not much to report from here.  I got up this morning, ate breakfast, and was in the library by 0900.  I ended up staying there right through lunch until I went to swim my mile around 5:00 pm.  I did skip swimming yesterday, so for those keeping score at home, I am now up to 6.5 miles.  That sounds reasonably impressive until I tell you there is one guy with 20+ miles already.  I don’t know what the weather was like today, I have not actually stepped outside the buildings.

On the positive side, I completed my annotated bibliography for Organizational Ethics.  I also identified some resources and narrowed my topics for my papers in Leadership and Death Investigation (Theodore Roosevelt and Forensic Entomology respectively, although, since TDR is dead, I guess he could go be squeezed into either paper).  I have NOT decided on a a topic for my lesson plan project in Organization Ethics yet.  I put together a slide show of my sections’s fitness testing for the next section meeting and I have started to assemble a calendar of due dates for various papers and projects.  It looks like the last two weeks of August will be very busy.  I may end up wishing I had taken a photography or computer related course.  For my paper on Roosevelt alone, I checked three books out of the FBI library, ordered two from Amazon, and asked Tracy to send me two more from home.  I have a lot of reading to do.

Since I did not take any new photos today, and perhaps feeling a bit maudlin, I went through the folder of shots from the week before I left Florida and thought to post a couple of them instead.  For those in my family at the beach this week, pick up a sea shell for me.

Wish I was here.
Wish I was here.
Wasp-I think this falls under Crabronidae
Wasp-I think this falls under Crabronidae

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melissodes - Long Horned Bee
Melissodes – Long Horned Bee

 

And one more from the beach.
And one more from the beach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Studying Sunday

  1. Andrew G. Lethbridge says:

    We picked up a few shells today at the beach. It was a nice and (HOT) day. We had a pretty good T-Storm this afternoon and lightning was crashing all around… dad had to gather the kids away from the windows…

    Caught a Manatee with my camera swimming under the pier this morning.

    Caught a snook, a few ladyfish, and a few hardhead catfish.

    Lost a couple of big fish. I was using a ladyfish as bait and missed out on a huge snook that just destroyed it… he lost me under the dock tangling my line… I was using either a pin fish or a ladyfish as bait on my big rod and my line went screaming off the reel… (I usually bait it, cast it, and let it be until something comes for it… and fish with my other reel…) The line was going off so fast that I was afraid to set the hook that it would just immediately break… thus I tried to put my thumb against the line going out to slow it down and start putting some tension on the line… bad idea as I burned my thumb because the line was going out so fast…

    The fish ended up turning as some point and I was able to set the hook and start bringing it in… but it ended up snapping my steel leader in two … I’m thinking Shark… but honestly no idea since I never brought it up and it had taken out so much line that I had quite a long time just reeling in the empty line… was fun regardless but my thumb is still a little raw! =)

    Sarah wants me to keep some fish so that she can have fresh fish… will have to catch enough of a legal kind to keep to make that worth while to start cleaning… So many of the fish have to be larger than this, smaller than this… and seasoned… and you have to properly identify it on top of that… =)

    Ok, well this is the seconding time typing this since the first did not take and then it appeared to disappear… this time I’m going to copy/paste prior to sending!

  2. Andrew G. Lethbridge says:

    We picked up a few shells today at the beach. It was a nice and (HOT) day. We had a pretty good T-Storm this afternoon and lightning was crashing all around… dad had to gather the kids away from the windows…

    Caught a Manatee with my camera swimming under the pier this morning.

    Caught a snook, a few ladyfish, and a few hardhead catfish.

    Lost a couple of big fish. I was using a ladyfish as bait and missed out on a huge snook that just destroyed it… he lost me under the dock tangling my line… I was using either a pin fish or a ladyfish as bait on my big rod and my line went screaming off the reel… (I usually bait it, cast it, and let it be until something comes for it… and fish with my other reel…) The line was going off so fast that I was afraid to set the hook that it would just immediately break… thus I tried to put my thumb against the line going out to slow it down and start putting some tension on the line… bad idea as I burned my thumb because the line was going out so fast…

    The fish ended up turning as some point and I was able to set the hook and start bringing it in… but it ended up snapping my steel leader in two … I’m thinking Shark… but honestly no idea since I never brought it up and it had taken out so much line that I had quite a long time just reeling in the empty line… was fun regardless but my thumb is still a little raw! =)

    Sarah wants me to keep some fish so that she can have fresh fish… will have to catch enough of a legal kind to keep to make that worth while to start cleaning… So many of the fish have to be larger than this, smaller than this… and seasoned… and you have to properly identify it on top of that… =)

    Ok, well this is the seconding time typing this since the first did not take and then it appeared to disappear… this time I’m going to copy/paste prior to

Leave a Reply

