Fitness Testing and more introductions

Today I had my first day in my last two classes:  Managing Death Investigations and Officer Involved Shootings.  The stack of material for Managing Death Investigations alone was pretty intimidating, but looking through it, a lot looks pretty familiar to anyone who has read Geberth’s homicide manuals.

All that for just one class!
All that for just one class!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think both this class and Officer Involved Shootings will be interesting.  The Officer Involved Shootings class is a combined class of both undergraduate and graduate level; the only difference is the graduate level students have an extra eight to fifteen page paper on top of the three papers/projects that everyone else does.  I thought about switching to the undergraduate classification, since I really won’t have a use for more Criminal Justice credits, but decided one extra paper probably won’t be too bad.

After the two classes and immediately following lunch (cod fillets or roast beef in gravy) we had our Physical Fitness assessment.  They pinched us with calipers, weighed us, measured us, and put us through some exercises.  This was the moment the last six months of self denial and exercise came down to.

 

Body fat testing with calipers
Body fat testing with calipers

 

 

 

 

 

 

Luckily they did this BEFORE the running.
Luckily they did this BEFORE the running.

 

 

 

 

 

 

If this picture does not show, just click the box.
If this picture does not show, just click the box.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My official entry weight at the National Academy was 184.6, almost exactly my goal weight of 185 and fifty pounds less than last December.  According to the guy doing the pinching, my body fat index is 10.5%.  I don’t know how that works, there were guys who look skinnier than I do with higher percentages, but  I was really happy with these numbers.

We then did pushups and planks and proceeded outside to the track for the 1.5 mile run.  The last several days we have seen Florida weather here in Virginia with highs in the mid 90s and very high humidity.  Thankfully, that broke today and I would guess it was a pleasant 88 degrees or so outside.  Prior to beginning the run, we were told that any time over eighteen minutes would disqualify us from participating in the challenge runs.  I was not worried about that, my goal was to come in under fifteen minutes.  Apparently running with other people is very motivating, I finished solidly in the first half of our section with a time of 12:41, that is a personal best for me running off the treadmill.  Everyone finished in under eighteen minutes and there were a few real runners, including our counselor Rachel, who lapped me before I was done.  That actually worked out well because I had set my camera up for her to use near the finish line, so she got shots of most of us finishing.  All in all a good day here, I hope the same is true for all of you.

IMGP2666.JPG
IMGP2666.JPG
IMGP2630.JPG
IMGP2630.JPG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fitness Testing and more introductions

  1. Tracy says:

    I know the answer to the body fat % and skinny… but it’s buried somewhere in my pre-OB days…

    I love seeing the pictures and I’m glad that, in spite of being the “official” photographer, you’re actually in them. I’m very proud of you and, like Travis, I always knew you could do it!

    MTY LTT

Leave a Reply

