One Down . . .

. . . Sixty nine to go.  Today was more orientation.  We met in our sections, elected class officers, had numerous people come into our home room with papers that needed to be completed, and had a last opportunity to switch classes.  I stood pat on the classes I signed up for originally and volunteered to be section photographer.  I figured I was taking photos anyhow, so why not?  We also met Rachel, the FBI Senior Agent assigned to our section.  She is a fitness buff, but aside from that she seems very nice. The FBI has this process down to a science and it ran very smoothly; everyone who spoke to us was encouraging and welcoming.

Rachel -I did ask if it was OK to post this.
Rachel -I did ask if it was OK to post this.

   We completed orientation early so I had time to swim before our welcoming dinner reception.  I made it a mile tonight, which took about an hour.  We are all being encouraged to pursue our blue brick, which requires us to swim 34 miles over the course of the academy.  That is an average of a half mile every day we are here.  There are 250 of us in the National Academy program, and many more in the training programs running here at the academy.  For all these swimmers, the FBI has a six lane pool!  We were swimming three and four to a lane tonight. 

The dinner was nice.  After all the work and pressure to cut my weight and get into shape for this program, it is hard to believe all of the desserts being served!  I am staying low-carb so far but it is not easy.  Eating buffet style is probably not doing me any favors either; I need to go run tonight.  I have heard a number of people complaining about the food; in my opinion, it has been pretty good and certainly better than the typical fare I ate in college. 

No issues with picking out what to wear in the morning.
No issues with picking out what to wear in the morning.

 

 

 

 

 

More of the class.
More of the class.
Seriously!  That is just cruel.
Seriously! That is just cruel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That is it for me here.  Regular classes begin tomorrow, starting with Physical Fitness at 0800.  I will close with a shot of the view from my bedroom after dark . . .

They are working on this courtyard
They are working on this courtyard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Down . . .

  1. Dorothy says:

    I really like reading this! Good Luck with classes tomorrow!!

  2. Anna says:

    Thanks for posting a blog, Tim. I always enjoy reading your writing.. We are thinking of you all!

Leave a Reply

